

Council (Annual Meeting)

Wednesday 15 May 2013 at 11.30am

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



ANNUAL COUNCIL

Wednesday 15 May 2013, at 11.30 am Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

1	<i>Arbourthorne Ward</i> Julie Dore John Robson Jack Scott	10	<i>Dore & Totley Ward</i> Keith Hill Joe Otten Colin Ross	19	<i>Mosborough Ward</i> David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing
2	<i>Beauchief</i> & <i>Greenhill Ward</i> Simon Clement-Jones Clive Skelton Roy Munn	11	<i>East Ecclesfield Ward</i> Garry Weatherall Steve Wilson Joyce Wright	20	<i>Nether Edge Ward</i> Anders Hanson Qurban Hussain Nikki Bond
3	<i>Beighton Ward</i> Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders	12	<i>Ecclesall Ward</i> Roger Davison Diana Stimely Penny Baker	21	<i>Richmond Ward</i> John Campbell Martin Lawton Lynn Rooney
4	<i>Birley Ward</i> Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	13	<i>Firth Park Ward</i> Alan Law Chris Weldon Shelia Constance	22	<i>Shiregreen & Brightside Ward</i> Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Price Peter Rippon
5	<i>Broomhill Ward</i> Shaffaq Mohammed Stuart Wattam Jayne Dunn	14	<i>Fulwood Ward</i> Andrew Sangar Sue Alston Cliff Woodcraft	23	<i>Southey Ward</i> Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss
6	<i>Burngreave Ward</i> Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	<i>Gleadless Valley Ward</i> Cate McDonald Tim Rippon Steve Jones	24	<i>Stannington Ward</i> David Baker Vickie Priestley Katie Condliffe
7	<i>Central Ward</i> Jillian Creasy Mohammad Maroof Robert Murphy	16	<i>Graves Park Ward</i> Denise Reaney Ian Auckland Bob McCann	25	<i>Stockbridge & Upper Don Ward</i> Alison Brelsford Philip Wood Richard Crowther
8	<i>Crookes Ward</i> Sylvia Anginotti Geoff Smith Rob Frost	17	<i>Hillsborough Ward</i> Janet Bragg Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Ben Curran Nikki Sharpe Neale Gibson
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea	18	<i>Manor Castle Ward</i> Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley	27	<i>West Ecclesfield Ward</i> Trevor Bagshaw Alf Meade Adam Hurst
				28	Woodhouse Ward

8 Woodhouse Wa Mick Rooney Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services Tel: 0114 2734029 paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at <u>www.sheffield.gov.uk</u>. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday, or you can ring on telephone no. 2734552. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA 15 MAY 2013

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. TO ELECT A LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

3. TO MOVE A VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING LORD MAYOR AND CONSORT

4. TO APPOINT A DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

(NB The meeting will adjourn following the appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor and reconvene at 2.00 p.m.)

5. TO ELECT A LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

6. TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF CABINET AND CABINET ADVISOR APPOINTMENTS, THE LEADER'S SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR THE DISCHARGE OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS, AND SHADOW CABINET APPOINTMENTS FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Background report of the Chief Executive outlining the constitutional requirements regarding the discharge of Executive functions.

7. ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES IN 2013/14 AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THOSE COMMITTEES

Report of the Chief Executive.

8. APPOINTMENTS TO OTHER COUNCIL PANELS, GROUPS ETC. AND TO EXTERNAL BODIES

To agree appointments in accordance with details to be circulated at the meeting.

9. ARRANGEMENTS FOR COUNCIL MEETINGS

To agree a programme of meetings of the Council in 2013/14 and, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 10.2, the formula for the order in which Notices of Motion will be listed on the Council Summons.

10. MEMBERS ALLOWANCES 2013/14 AND ONWARD

To consider a report of the Executive Director, Resources and any recommendations thereon referred by the Cabinet at its meeting held on

8th May, 2013.

Sha Notherde

Chief Executive

Dated this 7th day of May 2013

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 5 June 2013 at the Town Hall